23. Little Rock, Arkansas

IMG_1588
Plane views

I think I’ve said before that I love weddings–and I also love Arkansas. So when Jake got invited to a wedding in Arkansas, I insisted we go. First, though, we edged in some time in Little Rock–or at least I did, while he worked at the airport. Have I mentioned I love my work schedule?

My first stop was The Pantry, because when TripAdvisor says a city’s best restaurant is a Czech restaurant, I make sure not to miss it (also, this was too random to resist). It didn’t end up being all Czech, but the menu was somewhat Eastern European-inspired, so I got spaetzle, inhaled it in 5 seconds, sampled a couple local beers (Stone’s Throw Sausage Fest and Lost Forty Love Honey Bock–thumbs up for both), and called it a day.

FullSizeRender (50) FullSizeRender (51)

I next attempted to check out Big Dam Bridge and the Arkansas River Trail, but I got so wrapped up in cruising the hills in the rental car and admiring the gorgeous neighborhoods that by the time I got there, I didn’t even have time to take a picture and it was time to turn around and go get Jake from the airport. I swear, if I never had to talk to anyone about politics or religion, I would live here.

FullSizeRender (53)

FullSizeRender (52)

Upon picking up Jake, I went right back to the bridge, but as it turned out, it was a crappy place to try to take pictures, so we drove up into the hills a little bit and tried to scout out a viewpoint. A nice lady ended up letting use her yard, and that was the best we could do.

FullSizeRender (54)

At the end of the weekend, we came back to the city for a few hours before our return flight, and the neighborhood we hit was totally different. Some people we’d met over the weekend had recommended an Indian culture festival happening near the River Market, so we caught that just as it was wrapping up. The River Market District close by had lots going on, even for a Sunday–including a branch of one of my favorite chains, The Flying Saucer Draught Emporium. Aside from nearly missing our first of two flights in order to wait for nachos, it was a successful evening.


Leave a Reply

