14. Dallas, Texas

FullSizeRender (8)

Texas is huge. I know I’m not telling anyone anything they don’t already know here, but after you’ve driven from El Paso to Dallas in a day, the word “huge” takes on new meaning.

The drive–which takes you from I-10 to I-20 to I-30, a fact I particularly liked–starts out with El Paso’s pretty, mountainous scenery and gradually gets flatter…and flatter…and flatter.

FullSizeRender (9)

After driving the last five hours–the Odessa-Dallas leg–non-stop, I was in dire need of a drink when we rolled into town. A friend of Jake’s recommended the Bishop Arts District, and I couldn’t resist the sound of a diner-style restaurant called Oddfellows after she suggested it. (The name, not the diner quality. Diners I can live without, but odd people are awesome.)

FullSizeRender (12)

From my very cursory experience, Bishop Arts seemed like a place I’d like to spend more time in–as did Dallas on the whole. We barely had any time the next day to explore; while I was working, Jake was able to get out to the Deep Ellum neighborhood, though the daytime experience isn’t what it’s known for.

The piece of Dallas we probably saw the most of was the West End, a historic downtown district with a number of repurposed, red-brick factory buildings that lent it an air of charm. Sidenote that this was also the site of the best macaroni and cheese I’ve ever consumed (thank you Ellen’s Southern Kitchen).

FullSizeRender (13)


Leave a Reply

