Dreaming of: Summer in the District

photo (14)

It seems like I was just posting about the things I wanted to accomplish this spring in DC, and maybe that’s because I was. Summer got going early with temps in the 80s and 90s throughout May, so I feel like we’ve already been living it for awhile.

Still, there are a number of things to add to the bucket list now that the passing of Memorial Day has made things official, and I’ve listed a few of them below. Some are new, and some are old favorites…

  • Have a picnic/attend a concert at Wolf Trap – Summer concerts + picnicking = the best, and this woodsy Virginia venue is ideal for it. Trying for Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 in July.
  • See The Book of Mormon at the Kennedy Center – Tickets: Purchased.
  • Go berry picking – Rain got the better of last year’s trip to Larriland Farm, meaning Round 2 is in order.
  • Visit a lavender farm – I’ve been waiting almost a year for this! Seven Oaks in Virginia told me peak season was early June.
  • Watch the NSO’s Fourth of July rehearsal – Rain canceled this one last year, too, but this year it’s scheduled for 8 p.m. on the Capitol’s West Lawn.
  • Hang out at Wunder Garten – I just moved to NoMa, and this pop-up beer garden is my new neighbor.
  • Host an Italian housewarming dinner with ingredients from Union Market and A. Litteri – Because my new hood has a wealth of amazing food.
  • See a movie outside – Check out the schedules for NoMa Summer Screen and Union Market Drive In.
  • Kayak on the Potomac – I’ve heard this can be kind of difficult, but after having it on my list for two summers already, it’s time to take the plunge.
  • Go camping – There are so many places around here to do it, with Maryland’s beaches and Virginia’s mountains…now, to pick one.
  • White-water raft – Last summer, I went flat-water tubing with some friends in Harper’s Ferry, and I think I may be ready for something sliiightly more extreme.
  • Make ice cream cocktails, attempt to observe the Perseids meteor shower, and celebrate Canada Day – Summer staples.
  • Visit the monuments at night – They’re better that way, I swear – and it’s nicer when it isn’t 34 degrees out.
  • Go to an outdoor music festival – Now that I’m pretty sure I’ve outgrown my annual trip to Chicago’s Lollapalooza, I’m looking at the Hot August Music Festival in Maryland instead.

And while I’m at it, here’s an update on that spring list…

Meet Market has unfortunately closed indefinitely, and I decided to take a terrarium-making class instead of the floral design workshop. But I managed to check off most of the other items–photos below!

Vintage game night at Woodrow Wilson House
Vintage game night at Woodrow Wilson House
Blossom Kite Festival
Blossom Kite Festival
Hillwood Estates
Hillwood Estate
Hillwood Estates
Hillwood Estate

One thought on “Dreaming of: Summer in the District

Leave a Reply

