6. Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

photo 2 (10)

I don’t love Florida. I’m not saying I hate it–I just don’t love it. It’s something about the combination of myriad malls, the omnipresent scent of mothballs and the fact that it’s never as warm as you’re expecting it to be that just doesn’t quite do it for me.

That’s why after a one-day, two-night layover in Ft. Lauderdale last year, I thought I was set for awhile. I’d done a pool day, seen the canals and tried both the coconut cream and key lime pies at Coconuts (as well as some top-notch blackberry mojitos). So at around 9:00 p.m., when club music overtook downtown, I felt like I’d given myself a good enough picture of the city to excuse bolting for my hotel.

But I was wrong. As luck (and perpetually cheap DCA-FLL fares on U.S. Airways) would have it, I’d be back again in January, when I’d discover the city had at least one more gem than I had given it credit for.

That gem was The Laser Wolf, a super chill craft beer bar I tracked down with the help of Draft‘s newly published America’s 100 best beer bars, 2015. With the limited knowledge of Ft. Lauderdale’s geography that a couple one-day trips afford, I’d venture to call it off-the-beaten-path, though the striking absence of Lilly-clad tourists and winter-fleeing retirees would have led me to the same conclusion.

In addition to an impressive tap list, the place had a back door leading to a courtyard bedecked with Christmas lights where you could drink and hang out while sitting in the grass. In other words, it was perfect.

photo (1)

The lesson? It’s my favorite one of all, and the reason behind most of what I’m doing with this project: There’s something new worth discovering in every place you visit.

photo 1 (10)

photo 1 (11)

photo 2 (11)


2 thoughts on “6. Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Leave a Reply

