In the works: China

ChinaMap

Why is it that some plans take forever to materialize (will somebody take me to Bali already?) and others come together right away?

As I ponder that, it looks like it’s also time to start planning a trip to China, where I’ve graciously been invited to join my boyfriend’s family for a trip in June. In the past few days, it’s become a destination I never thought I’d go before age 40 (the age by which I’d hoped I’d have enough money to hire a guide to help me find vegetarian food) to somewhere it’s time to research, stat (I’m just gonna eat rice, I think).

What I know is that we’ll be joining them in Beijing for about 5 days, and then we have the last weekend to figure out on our own. At the recommendation of my cousin, a China expert, I’m leaning toward saving Shanghai for my next trip, possibly to be combined with nearby Hangzhou and Suzhou. And while I’ve been told not to pack in Xi’an and the Terracotta Warriors at the expense of somewhere else, it seems decently close on the high-speed train (6-ish hours, I’m hearing? That’s close by my standards), and because I studied the warriors in my high school art history class, I can already sense them becoming a single-minded obsession on my trip checklist.

Of course, what I really  want to do is go see the Zhangye Danxia National Geological Park and its striped mountains in Gansu (see below), but it looks like that’s accomplished by a 2 hour, 35 minute flight to Lanzhou, followed by a 2 hour, 10 minute bus to Zhangye, followed by a taxi (of an unknown length) to the landforms. And I don’t think I’m ready to do that to Jake 😉

Don’t they look cool, though?!

Zhangye Danxia Landform in Gansu, China


One thought on “In the works: China

Leave a Reply

