Greetings from: Chicago

photo 5I’m back at home for a whirlwind couple days this week to celebrate my mom’s 60th birthday, and after months of talk, she and I finally checked out Old Town’s Perennial Virant this evening. I was mostly in it for the novelty (“No other chef working in America today utilizes preservation as robustly as Chef Virant,” according to the website. Translation: pickled things) and the ambiance, but it quickly surpassed all of my expectations. Adding it to the list of favorite Chicago restaurants.

Unbeknownst to me, the restaurant is actually connected to Hotel Lincoln, a boutique hotel I’ve been wanting to check out but lacking an occasion for. I finally got one this week when ASCO, the gigantic oncology conference I’ll be covering in May, pushed all the downtown hotel prices over the $500 mark. Three cheers for work-sponsored tourism!

Below, some scoping out I did in the lobby. More to come in a couple months!

photo 2 (7)

photo 3 (5)

photo 4 (6)

photo 1 (6)
I NEVER photograph food. Mom made me do it.

2 thoughts on “Greetings from: Chicago

Leave a Reply

