Dreaming of: Spring in the District

photo (10)Spring was always my least favorite season growing up. In Chicago, it barely exists, and whatever you do get is punctuated by annoyingly late snowfall every time you think you’ve seen the last of it.

DC, though, has spring–real spring–and it stays awhile. Last year, I used the time to see the famous cherry blossoms, have afternoon tea at a historic Virginia manor, run my first 5k and explore the European embassies.

All of those are on the docket for the coming spring, too, but there are lots of new things to try as well–and as usual, I’m making a list of them. Hat tip to District & More for a number of these–can’t wait to check them out!

  • DC Meet Market – Okay, I’ve actually been to this one, but it was fantastic and I can’t wait for it to set up again in Logan Circle. It runs the first Saturday of every month from April through November at 15th & P Street NW from 11 a.m. to 5 p.m., meaning the first date this year should be April 4.
  • Fancy speakeasy cocktails – Bar PX in Alexandria has been on my list for awhile now, but reservations are taken very seriously and they fill up faster than I can ever seem to get my act together.
  • Floral design workshop – What better way is there to ring in spring than to learn how to arrange flowers? Aside from gardening, which–been there, done that, and I’m not exactly racing back to try it again. That’s why I planted perennial bulbs. Anyway, I’m eyeing up some of these DC-area classes
  • .Woodrow Wilson House – I just bought tickets to the next vintage game night, which features entrance, two drink vouchers, light fare and all-you-can-play vintage board games for $15.
  • Hillwood Estate – I was thrilled to find out that this beautiful museum and gardens is only a mile from my house. Will be racing over there, picnic in hand and friends in tow, as soon as temperatures allow.
  • Capital Bikeshare – I had the joy of biking all around the monuments and the tidal basin yesterday with a 24-hour pass. Now, all I need to do is learn to conquer my intense fear of biking in the street before I can make this a main mode of transportation.
  • Sona Creamery – Let’s be real – I’m definitely too lazy (and disastrous in the kitchen) to make cheese at home, so some of these workshops might be lost on me. But anything that involves eating it in-store–and pairing it with some kind of alcohol–sounds right up my alley.
  • Blossom Kite Festival – It’s supposed to be freezing next Saturday, when kites are scheduled to take to the skies above the Washington Monument grounds. But I will not be deterred.
  • Restaurants, restaurants, bars and more restaurants: The list is getting so long that I’m not sure how to attack it, but I’m doing my best. Compass Rose, Water and Wall, Thally, Table, Chaplin’s, Stanton & Greene, Southern Efficiency, Ocopa and El Camino–I’ll see you soon.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of: Spring in the District

Leave a Reply

