4. San Francisco, California

photo 1 (5)Here’s all you need to know about my last trip to San Francisco: I was 20. I couldn’t drink, I stayed downtown at an austere hotel, and I didn’t bring a camera. I won the money for the trip with a friend at a raffle at the Bulls game. When we got there, we celebrated at the Cheesecake Factory.

Okay–you get it. It was travel before I knew how to travel. This trip, I concentrated on neighborhoods, nature, beer bars and ice cream. Oh, and the giant investor conference I covered for 12 hours a day.

The first order of business on my only free day (after checking into my shockingly orange, Hitchcock-themed, shabby-but-not-chic boutique hotel) was hitting the historically Latino, majorly gentrified Mission District and beelining for a burrito at La Palma Mexicatessen. From there, I found my way over to Mitchell’s Ice Cream (which I later found out was the favorite childhood ice cream spot for many of my cab drivers) and then set out for Lands End, a spectacular (literally) recommendation from a local friend of mine.

photo (7)

Getting a look at the Golden Gate Bridge from the west turned out to be infinitely worth it, and the wooded trail that hugs the water turned out to be one of the most gorgeous I’ve ever walked. Things got a little confusing on my way down to the bridge itself (the trail became the streets of a ritzy beach-side neighborhood, and I may or may not have had to hitchhike the last bit when the sidewalk ended–whoops), but it was a great walk, and I was rewarded with a rare auto-free saunter across thanks to some median construction.

photo 1 (6)

Not a bad view.

The rest of trip more or less consisted of frantic working interspersed with moments of serious overindulgence at well-researched food and drink establishments, the highlights of which I’ve listed below. The exception: A trip up to the Twin Peaks summit on a perfectly clear night. IPhone couldn’t do that one justice, so you’ll just have to check it out yourself. But…man.

Did:
Mikkeller Bar
Toronado
Bi-Rite Creamery (OH MY GOD THIS PLACE)
Burma Superstar (and the nearby Green Apple Books–so great)
Aliment

Missed:
The Slanted Door
Zuni Cafe
Frances
Pizzeria Delfina

photo 2 (5)
Toronado
photo 3 (6)
Mission Dolores, on the way to Bi-Rite
photo 2 (6)
Rainy morning near Union Square

4 thoughts on “4. San Francisco, California

Leave a Reply

