3. Westford, Massachusetts

photo 2 (4)Since I’m somehow now old enough for my friends to own homes, from New Jersey we road-tripped up to Massachusetts for our friends’ housewarming party. While I can’t say I did Westford right–there’s apparently a historic town center that I didn’t even catch a glimpse of in the weekend I was there–I did manage to find a kick-ass beer store that’s definitely worth logging in the travel journal.

photo 1 (4)

As much as Massachusetts can irk me at times (I said it), its craft beer situation is pretty excellent, and Craft Beer Cellar is no exception. I spent about an hour mixing an epic six-pack, and for me personally, there’s not much more I can ask for out of a somewhat suburban-feeling town.

Also managed to catch a few pretty landscapes in/near the woodsy area my friends call their backyard, despite some pretty prototypical cold and gray January weather.

photo 4 (5)

Then it was off to Boston’s South Station to catch the train back to DC–an 8-hour ordeal that’s become one of my favorite money-savers when airfares won’t cooperate. Spent a few hours trying to watch a hockey game on shoddy Amtrak WiFi, waved to New York, and then called it a night.

photo 3 (5)


Leave a Reply

